Advantages of using the Szalay Cyto-Spatula

The traditional Szalay Cyto-Spatula Pap test guarantees:

  • A representative monolayer specimen without the need for additional technical and elaborate procedures.
  • Rapid and very reliable application.
  • An unbeatable price/performance ratio.
  • A high level of sensitivity and specificity
The Szalay Cyto-Spatula Pap test
The Szalay Cyto-Spatula Pap test

Cells from all areas of the cervix uteri with a single smear

If used correctly, the special shape and surface of the Szalay Cyto-Spatula guarantees a cytological smear test which will always contain plenty of very good quality cells from all areas of the cervix uteri.

Pap smear test by keratosis, necrosis
Pap smear test by keratosis, necrosis

The upper epithelial layers inhibit the collection of representative cytological material. The specially prepared surface of the spatula causes a provoked exfoliation and thereby ensures that cells are collectedfrom the deeper cell layers where tumours (cancers) are often located.

Monolayer achieved by correct smearing
Monolayer achieved by correct smearing

Representative monolayer specimens without the need for additional technology and elaborate procedures

Smearing the cells collected with the Szalay Cyto-Spatula on to the slide creates a monolayer, due to the spatula’s special surface.

Extremely inexpensive

The Szalay Cyto-Spatula Pap test is very inexpensive and reliable to use. No other instrument enables the collection of representative cells so quickly and cheaply from all areas of the cervix.

The Szalay Cyto-Spatula has a rated break point at the top

The Szalay Cyto-Spatula is also an ideal instrument for liquid-based analysis methods. All the cells collected can be delivered to the conserving liquid in the application container.

Fast and reliable evaluation

The conventional evaluation method for the Szalay ctyo-spatula Pap smear test is fast, reliable and, when compared to other methods, extremely inexpensive – in particular for cytologists and health insurance companies. Furthermore, significantly less waste is created in comparison with other methods.

Tried and tested a million times

The Szalay Cyto-Spatula has been used millions of times and is simple to use. Please refer to the video clip.

Can be adapted to the anatomy of the patient

Three types of spatula have been developed to fit the different shapes and sizes of the portio. This makes cell collection possible with a single smear, even if the patient has a very narrow or almost closed cervical canal.

Very well documented

The use of the Szalay Cyto-Spatula has been very well documented compared to other methods. Please refer to the smear test video or the quick guide to view the smear technique using the Szalay Cyto-Spatula as well as the references.

Summary

These pages describe the advantages of the Szalay spatula Pap test. The Szalay spatula is a collection instrument for obtaining cells from the cervix uteri (zervix uteri) or mouth of the uterus within gynaecology and cytology. The cells collected provide cancer screening for women. The aim is early detection of either a cervical carcinoma or uterine cervix cancer.  The collection of cells, known as a taking a smear, is normally performed by a gynaecologist. Other instruments used in cervical cytology include the cyto brush ™, cervix brush ™, the cotton wool bud (still unfortunately in use) and other spatula instruments.  It has been proven that, in addition to its price, the Szalay Cyto-Spatula has many other advantages over these instruments. Above all, sufficient representative substance from all zones of the cervix uteri is always collected, meaning that sensitivity and specificity are greater when the spatula is used correctly. The method of processing the cells, be it traditionally or using the so-called thin layer cytology or thin film cytology, is for the cytologist to decide. Both methods are ultimately only effective if the substance collected is both representative and present in sufficient quantity.

Avantages de l’utilisation de la Cyto-Spatule Szalay

Le Test Pap classique à la Cyto-Spatule Szalay garantit :

  • Une préparation monocouche exploitable sans technique supplémentaire ni procédé fastidieux.
  • Une utilisation rapide et très rationnelle.
  • Un rapport prix/prestation imbattable.
  • Une sensibilité et une spécificité élevées.
Test Pap à la Cyto-Spatule Szalay
Test Pap à la Cyto-Spatule Szalay

Des cellules de toutes les zones du col de l’utérus avec un seul frottis

La forme et la surface particulières de la Cyto-Spatule Szalay garantissent, si l‘utilisation est adéquate, un frottis cytologique qui contient toujours suffisamment de cellules, et en très bon état morphologique, de toutes les zones du col de l‘utérus.

Frottis Pap en cas de kératinisation, de nécrose
Frottis Pap en cas de kératinisation, de nécrose

Les couches épithéliales supérieures rendent difficile l’obtention de matériel cytologique exploitable. La surface spécialement usinée de la spatule entraîne une exfoliation provoquée et garantit ainsi l’obtention de cellules également dans les couches profondes où se développement souvent les tumeurs (cancer).

Monocouche grâce à un étalement correct
Monocouche grâce à un étalement correct

Préparation monocouche exploitable sans technique supplémentaire ni procédé fastidieux

L’étalement sur la lame porte-objet des cellules prélevées avec la Cyto-Spatule Szalay fournit une monocouche grâce à la surface spéciale de la spatule.

Très économique

Le Test Pap à la Cyto-Spatule Szalay est économique et rationnel dans son application. Sans utiliser d‘autre instrument il est possible d’obtenir rapidement et avantageusement des cellules exploitables de toutes les zones du col de l‘utérus.

La Cyto-Spatule Szalay comporte à l‘avant un point de rupture prévu

La Cyto-Spatule Szalay est également un instrument idéal pour les méthodes analytiques « en milieu liquide ». Toutes les cellules obtenues sont déposées dans le liquide de conservation dans le récipient d‘utilisation.

Examen rapide et sûr

L’examen classique d’un frottis Pap de Cyto-Spatule Szalay est rapide, sûr et très économiquement avantageux par rapport aux autres méthodes- en particulier pour les cytologistes et les caisses de maladie. Beaucoup moins de déchets sont produits par rapport aux autres méthodes.

Éprouvée des millions de fois

La Cyto-Spatule Szalay a été éprouvée des millions de fois et son utilisation est facile. À ce propos regardez le vidéoclip.

Adaptée à l’anatomie de la patiente

Trois types de spatules ont été développés pour les différentes formes et dimensions de la partie vaginale du fond de l‘utérus. Ceci permet le prélèvement de cellules en un seul frottis, et également dans le canal cervical très étroit ou presque refermé.

Très bien documentée

L’utilisation de la Cyto-Spatule Szalay est comparativement très bien documentée. On peut se reporter par exemple à la vidéo du frottis ou à l’introduction rapide à la technique du frottis avec la Cyto-Spatule Szalay ou les références bibliographiques.

Abrégé

Cette page décrit les avantages du Test Pap à la Spatule de Szalay. La Spatule de Szalay est un instrument de prélèvement pour l’obtention de cellules en gynécologie et en cytologie du col de l’utérus (col utérin) ou de l’orifice de l‘utérus. Les cellules obtenues servent à la prévention du cancer chez les femmes. Le but est la détection précoce d’un carcinome du col ou d’un carcinome de l’orifice de l’utérus (cancer de la matrice). Le prélèvement des cellules ou le frottis est normalement effectué par un gynécologue. Les autres instruments qui sont utilisés en cytologie du col sont le Cytobrush (tm), le Cervexbrush (tm), l’écouvillon coton (hélas encore) et d’autres instruments de type spatule. Il a été cependant démontré que la Cyto-Spatule Szalay présente, outre son prix, de nombreux autres avantages par rapport à ces instruments. Avant tout c’est la certitude de toujours prélever suffisamment de matériel exploitable, sur toutes les zones du col de l‘utérus, si l’utilisation est correcte la sensibilité et la spécificité sont également meilleures. La manière dont les cellules seront traitées ensuite, traditionnelle ou en cytologie couche mince, est du ressort de la cytologie. Les deux méthodes ne sont en fin de compte efficaces que si le matériel prélevé est exploitable et présent en quantité suffisante.